Forum Feedback and Support Post forum feedback and related problems, here.

Combined review search results?

Old 01-18-03, 11:24 AM
Banned

Combined review search results?

I notice that when one searches for reviews by reviewer the database only returns results for DVD Video. Is there a way to provide combined search results that cover theatrical, dvd video, video games, audio etc.?
Old 01-18-03, 12:27 PM
DVD Talk Reviewer/ Admin

Without reformatting of some sort, there isn't really room for combined search results, as I'd want to include a column indicating what type of review each entry is. It's technically very much possible to do, but I'm not a graphic designer or anything. Tell me how to format it and I'll do it.

Video games couldn't be included without considerable effort since they're stored in a different database with a different set of users.
Old 01-18-03, 09:38 PM
Banned

Originally posted by ctyner
Without reformatting of some sort, there isn't really room for combined search results, as I'd want to include a column indicating what type of review each entry is. It's technically very much possible to do, but I'm not a graphic designer or anything. Tell me how to format it and I'll do it.

Video games couldn't be included without considerable effort since they're stored in a different database with a different set of users.
Ha! As it turns out I am a graphic designer. I'll work something simple up and send it to you. You're thinking separating each class of review out completely or just adding a column that shows what kind of review each item in the list is (like on the 'view popular' screen in the reviewer tool)?

I think keeping video games out is probably fine. I mainly want to be able to see all of a reviewer's work in the DVD/theatrical/Audio DVD realms.
Old 01-18-03, 11:00 PM
DVD Talk Reviewer/ Admin

Originally posted by Surf Monkey
You're thinking separating each class of review out completely