Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

Godzilla vs Megalon - Media Blasters - 14 Aug 2012

DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

Old 08-25-12, 11:02 AM
DVD Talk Legend

So Media Blasters/Tokyo Shock had plans to put out special edition Bluray and DVD releases of this title, but they apparently made Toho mad with unauthorized extras on the Destroy All Monsters release, and they couldn't get clearance for any extras for Megalon. So as of the 14th, they released a barebones movie only DVD, saying on their Facebook page they might try again for an SE Bluray down the road.

Since the only other version of Megalon I have is the MST3K version, I sprung for the DVD.

I just posted this in the Godzilla thread in HD talk, but wanted to post in this forum too since there was no chatter.

Watched the Megalon DVD last night. I'm not an expert judge of transfers and such, but I'll say that I was never distracted by any flaws. I watched on a 46" LCD Samsung, upconverted via Panasonic BDP-215.

Over at Tohokingdom forums, somebody posted a frame of a cropped scene, looks like Media Blasters took a scene from a 16x9 HD cropped transfer, then matted it down further to 2.35. But I didn't notice any other issues. I don't have another widescreen transfer to compare it to, but just eyeballing it and watching for composition and framing.

First post here has the images.
http://www.tohokingdom.com/forum/vie...8947&start=570

Otherwise I thought it looked pretty good. It's sub and dub and 16x9. The nudie pictures in the truck cab are even there.

Even if they ever get a Bluray disc out, it would take a lot of really good extras for me to upgrade, the picture quality will do fine for me.

It's currently $12.03 on Amazon (how do I make a referral link for DVDTalk?)
Old 10-14-12, 05:06 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Re: Godzilla vs Megalon - Media Blasters - 14 Aug 2012

http://www.tohokingdom.com/forum/vie...425641#p425641