DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

Question about dvds going OOP

Old 02-25-09, 02:28 PM

Question about dvds going OOP

I'm relatively new at collecting movies on dvd. However, I'm a long time wrestling dvd collector before I turned my attention over to movie collecting. Over the past few months I have come to realize that so many titles I want are currently out of print and some rather pricey on auction sites or amazon. This wasn't anything different from my WWF collection witch many are OOP but I figure most of that had to do with the name change and lawsuit. I was aware that Disney has done this for years with "the Vault". My question is what is the reasoning for this? Aside from Disney movies or the Wizard of Oz, I figure that it has to do with most not being mainstream or a popular movie overall. Why wouldn't the companies just keep the title in print but not produce a large amount if it's a financial reason or possibly just offer them online for collectors who would want them. Unless it is a licensing issue or a financial issue I really don't see why companies would leave a title off the market for a substantial time. Any input is appreciated.
Old 02-25-09, 03:13 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Re: Question about dvds going OOP

Marketing, marketing, marketing. It creates a mood of "buy it now or you'll never be able to again!" and those who might have been on-the-fence will now spring forward with wallets in hand. They're still generally very easy to find, but the only reason they put them "back in the vault" is to create an upswell of BUYNOWBUYNOWBUYNOW!!! It's totally lame, dude.
Old 02-25-09, 05:18 PM