Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

DVD's not flagged for progressive playback.

Community
Search
DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-08, 04:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm not an expert when it comes to this, but I have noticed sometimes that some titles doesn't seem to be flagged right, it's never commented in any online-reviews.

I watched Wrong Turn 2 yesterday, and it was incorrectly flagged. Every review I read today have no mention of this. I remember the same applied to the Alien Apocalypse from Anchor Bay which was horrendous. Only one reviewer seemed to agree with me. (BTW, I have a Reon chip which upconvert and deinterlace the signal before it's sent to my BenQ 1080p projector).

Is this issue un-noticeable on smaller screens since few seems to comment this? Kudos to DVDTalk reviewer Ian Jane though, who comments this in his reviews, both here and on DVDManiacs (now AVManiacs).

Some may look good, but other disc can look terrible when flagged incorrectly.
Old 08-09-08, 11:05 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Non-progressive DVDs for film-based 24fps material are an abomination and I wish that the people who make them would do their homework. I am still on interlaced TVs, but do plan on getting a nice HD set soon and really don't want to run into any more of these than I have to. I know some early Criterions are interlaced, and early titles from other studios sometimes are, but the only recent one I ran into that I can think of off the top of my head was Faye Grim. That was on a single-layer disc, too, and had awful PQ. Really screwed up all around, and should be an embarrassment for all involved. Oh, and all of Frederick Wiseman's shitty home-brew DVDs (that I've seen) are interlaced. Sad that he doesn't seem to have competent people working for him.