Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

Anime dvd question: Do you watch subtitled or dubbed version?

Community
Search
DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-07, 01:13 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1,081 Likes on 656 Posts

I am new to the world of anime and was curious about this. A friend recently let me borrow his Cowboy Bebop remix series and I fell in love. Like serious love. I now consider this show one of the best shows I have ever seen. Top 5! (putting it up there with Six Feet Under is a big deal for me).

Never was an anime fan and the only things I had seen before was the older movie Ghost in the Shell and Grave of the Fireflies, both of which I found terribly boring despite their rave reviews.

When watching foreign films I would never even consider watching a dubbed version but did not even think about it when I started the Bebop series. I watched the english dub and was blown away at how good the voice acting was and how their voices seemed so important and natural to the characters. Then I started thinking about how it was not the original voices but I can't imagine now watching it subtitled.

I plan on checking out more anime since my recent almost religious experience with Cowboy Bebop. But how should I watch future anime? If it gives a dubbed verison, should I watch it or stick to the original voices? I figured that most anime dubs may not be as good as Bebop but due to no experience with it, I really don't know. It does seem like reading subtitles might take away a little bit since anime is so visual in nature...but then again, it may be no different that watching a normal foreign film.

So anime experts out there...how do you watch your anime?

And also...are there any other series or movies as good (or possibly better) as Bebop? Any recommendations would be appreciated as well for a greenie such as I. Thanks!