Search
DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

time line ANH

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-04, 02:47 PM
Cool New Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
time line ANH

These DVDs represent a sort of homecoming to me, It's my first time seeing Star Wars ANH since about 1979 at that time I had seen it about 12 times at the theater.

I don't know that I never noticed this before but I was amazed how short a time period ANH takes place in, there is very little attention paid to the passage of time. As far as I can tell the whole movie spans one day, night and ends in the next day.

If only an hour or so passed between the droids separation and subsequent reuniting on the Jawa vehicle, the nightfall Luke waited out for fear of Sandpeople is the only actual night/sleep cycle expressed in the film.

From the Cantina to the celebration ceremony at the end, it looks like one afternoon by my internal movie chronometer. Of course the droids are looking much cleaned and the humans daper too by comparison, so it's likely a night had passed which would strech the movie accross a full 2 nights. I just thought it was interesting.
Old 10-12-04, 02:51 PM
Retired

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Honestly, you can't really tell how much time takes place. For instance, the Falcon could have take a few days to get to the remains of alderaan. They could have been on Yavin for a few days before the Death Star approached.

You just rreally can't tell.
Old 10-12-04, 03:13 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 598 Likes on 346 Posts
Gee.... it only felt like two hours to me
Old 10-12-04, 03:54 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Here is what my guess is for time.

Droids land and capture by the Jawas: 8-12 hours. It is bright day when they land but almost dark when the shove R2 up the tube.

Next morning they arrive at Luke's house.
Same day, Luke looks at the suns and R2 runs away.