Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Talk > DVD Talk Covers, Cases & Inserts
Reload this Page >

Okay, I'm new to this, and I'd like some help...

Community
Search
DVD Talk Covers, Cases & Inserts Talk about DVD Cover Art, DVD Cases and DVD INSERTS

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-05, 02:36 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Program: Paintshop Pro 7

I know those of you who are seasoned when it comes to making DVD covers hate my kind, the ones who pop in to ask seemingly basic questions. I was wondering, though, if somebody could just set me on my way with this...to get a bit of a beginner's step-by-step for how to do things. My initial questions:

1. How do I size my blank worksheet to a point where it prints out at the proper size? I had joliom send me the templates for PSP7, but when I copied the image and tried to paste it into PSP, my computer would freeze. First time anything of that sort has happened, so I guess my PC just didn't mesh with the files he sent. I'm mainly looking for the regular amaray template to get started with. Is there any site where I can find a blank image to copy and paste into PSP to use as a canvas of sorts? Or, does anybody know the dimensions to set under the "New Image" option, just to get myself a blank canvas with which I can proceed?

2. Do you have any recommendations for where, on the internet, I can find the little logos and whatnot that give covers that "official" feel to them?

3. Suggestions for how to go about getting screenshots? Again, any websites, or am I mainly going to be forced to stick with capturing screenshots from my computer's DVD player?

4. In regard to printing, any tricks of the trade outside of glossy paper? I've got an HP PSC 500, rather old, but I'll have to make due...so any tips would be appreciated.

5. What font, size, and so forth is best for the various texts on the back?