Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How Much Is Too Much $$ for a DVD

What's your opinion on how much is too much money for a DVD

Barebones widescreen
or
Special Editions
or
Box Sets

I'm new to collecting and want to get an idea of good price ranges so i dont get ripped off buying dvds from different stores in my area when i could have gotten them cheaper
Old 03-10-04, 04:58 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Retail is too much.

Use dvdpricesearch to get ideas of prices.
Old 03-10-04, 05:00 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
It mainly depends upon the movie more than anything else. In general though I usually try to get in around 30-40% off new retail and won't pay more than $15 for used (usually $10 is my limit though unless I really want in, which if that's the case I've usually already bought it new ).
Old 03-10-04, 05:07 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

As a normal rule i dont pay more than the following:

Barebones-$15

Special Edition (up to 2 discs)- $20

Box set- $60
Old 03-10-04, 05:16 PM

Aye, retail is too much. Many retail stores sell normal DVDs for $19.99 -- which is fine if you don't want to wait. But many online sellers offer free (media mail) with orders and their DVDs are often much much lower. Some stores are silly enough to sell DVDs at msrp and expect to turn a profit.

Example: The Godfather Collection

Amazon -- $79.42
Buy.com -- $69.98
Best Buy Retail -- $65.99
Kmart Retail -- $59.99
Fye.com -- $54.99
SuperDuperClub -- $49.99

Shop around. Online outlets like Deep Discount DVD and DVD Pacific will offer much better deals than in-store retail.
Old 03-10-04, 05:21 PM
Suspended

thanks for the responses guys

I picked up

Seven Platinum E for $29 Canadian
&
Fight Club SE for $22.50 Canadian

at Futureshop as they had a deal that if you get two of the SE DVDs with some sticker on it, u get 5 bucks off and since i was gonna buy them both soon anyway, i bought em today