DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   DVD Talk Archive (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-talk-archive-54/)
-   -   Is the value of your DVD collection worth more than you have in savings/investments? (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-talk-archive/341984-value-your-dvd-collection-worth-more-than-you-have-savings-investments.html)

Max Bottomtime 01-20-04 11:26 PM

$17,000 in a 401K, $50,000 in debt and $6,500 in DVDs...but I don't drink, smoke. do drugs and I drive a POS pickup, so I don't feel guilty about my DVDs.

mljones99 01-20-04 11:47 PM

I'm a college student so I have no savings, especially now after tuition and books are paid. So DVDs > Savings for right now.

SlangNRocks 01-21-04 12:08 AM

The thing that limits my dvd purchasing is having space to store them all. It takes a lot less space to have money in the bank etc since someone else is taking of it for you.

If I count my college debt then its about even. My savings/investments is just over my student loan debt so I'd say they are worth about the same.

I'm still waiting for someone to come here saying they have all their money tied up in 100 copies of Salo criterion as an investment so their dvd collection and investments are one and the same.

boston george 01-21-04 05:53 AM

Re: Is the value of your DVD collection worth more than you have in savings/investments?

Originally posted by Wannabe
I was flipping channels and caught Suze Orman talking about financial and personal responsibility. She made me wonder if some collectors have more invested in their DVDs than they have in their savings, 401k, stocks, bonds, etc.?

Moreover, I was wondering if anyone is going without health insurance but still managing to spend the equivalent on DVDs.

I read a lot about people feeding their DVD addictions, but no one seems to quantify what percentage of their income they spend on their habit.