Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Reviews and Recommendations
Reload this Page >

The sights and sounds of Gladiator

Community
Search
DVD Reviews and Recommendations Read, Post and Request DVD Reviews.

The sights and sounds of Gladiator

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-00, 04:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am not a pro-reviewer. I have a decent system, but not Meridian/Vidikron-hi-end. But I have had DVD since it came out, and I have watched hundreds of DVDs. So, I hope my opinions have some credibilty....

Audio:

I am one of those who are really tired of soundtracks that pins you to your seat with sheer bass and volume. IMHO, those mixes are amateurish and tiresome. I am so sick of missiles and planes that pan from front to back with no 3-D quality to it. Thankfully, Gladiator is not one of those. I watched it in DTS-ES (my system is not ES equipped though) and this is one of the few mixes that TRULY immerses you. Pretty much anytime when the surrounds were engaged, I was hard-pressed to find gaps along the sides. I think seamless blending from front to rear is hard to do, and Gladiator does it in spades. Dialouge is also very, very clear. The bass on this disc is very well done. Not overcooked and exaggerated (like the DTS flying disc trailer), but it is full, well integrated, and used when necessary. How many times have we heard ridiculous bass coming from a punch? The sound engineers certainly exercised prudence and wanted realism when they mixed the bass, and I hope it catches on.

Video:

I don't think I'm in the position to offer an "official" opinion, for I don't have 16x9 or progressive. However, I do know what I like. Gladiator's transfer is gorgeous. I don't recall any softness or excessive detail. It's probably as sharp as 540 lines can provide. Colors were well balanced when Scott is not deliberately altering it. I can't wait to go WS and prog-scan.