DVD Reviews and Recommendations Read, Post and Request DVD Reviews.

Director's commentaries??

Old 06-22-99, 08:53 PM
Cool New Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
As a film student I found these DVDs to have great info regarding film techniques/directing/stagging/cinematic issues/etc...

-"Dark City"
-"Bound"
-"Alien"
-"The exorcist"
-"Contact"

I was wondering if any of you knew of any other DVD's where the director talks about this kind of stuff on the commentary. Thanks!!!

C.
Old 06-22-99, 11:11 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Check out the El Mariachi/Desperado director's double feature from Columbia. A great disc! Robert Rodriguez provides commentary for both films, explaining the logistics of making them in a very in-depth fashion. There are also 2 10 minute segments explaining how El Mariachi was made for only $7000, and how the shootout in Desperado was filmed. I think this disc would be right up your alley. I loved it.
Old 06-23-99, 01:43 AM
Banned

Location: Right now, my location is DVDTalk, but then again, you should already know that, shouldn't you?
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Zizz definitely picked a great commentary, but another one you must check out is John Carpenter's THE THING: Collector's Edition. Great stuff! Another winner is THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS: Criterion Collection. The presentation is odd, but the insights are fabulous. I just finished listening to the commentary on THE LAST STARFIGHTER: Collector's Edition not five minutes ago--alas, it's yet another commentary where the director just describes to you what you're already seeing...oh, well (sighs)...
Old 06-23-99, 02:00 AM
Cool New Member

Commentary tracks are my favorite "extra" feature. Some other commentaries I would definitely recommend are:

12 MONKEYS
AS GOOD AS IT GETS
RONIN

And on laserdisc: GOLDENEYE and BRAZIL (the latter soon to be avaliable on DVD--and very welcome!)
Old 06-23-99, 11:14 AM