DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Some feedback please?

Old 02-12-01, 05:35 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Yo, this is my first time ever posting on this board, I've been reading over it the last few days and i like it.

anyways, i planned on gettin a dvd player, the same as the one my friend has (sony dvp 360). Little did i know, i need a new tv to go with it as well since my tv isnt stereo, so after several days of comparison and window shoppin etc. I have decided to go with the Sony Wega FS12 27"

so all in all, i am gettin the Sony Wega FS12 27" tv and the sony dvp 360, and I will have to get the stand as well.

My question is, since i am a student and on a very tight budget, i would like this to last me for a long time, its expensive too me, i live in canada by tha way, and i dont want to spend all this money on something that is not reliable and wont last? is this investment worth it???

TV = $999
dvd = $399
Stand = bout 200 or so

and add 15% tax on that, and u can do the math.

Am i makin a good choice?? I have been doing alot of research on this for the past week, and it seems like quality equipment, i would just like some other peoples opinions. I have alot of time to think this through since i wont be gettin them untill around April

Thanks
Old 02-12-01, 05:50 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

They are good choices and if you are truly worried about reliability get an extended service contrat that you can renew. Sony equipment has a pretty good reliability factor. One thing though $399 is a pretty high price for the 360 model. I just bought one for my mother for $249(regular everyday price). You may want to shop around for a better price and use the money saved for DVDs!
Old 02-12-01, 06:48 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

thanks for the reply

i have been lookin around all the stores everywheres, and thats the cheapest i can find it

dont forget i live in canada, i can see tha same player being 249 for a US price