Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Question about main and surround speakers

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Question about main and surround speakers

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-00, 10:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Alright, this is a really dumb question, but I'm new to HT. Can main speakers be used as surrounds and vice versa? Like, can I use 4 identical speakers as my 2 mains and 2 surrounds? Thanks.
Old 12-28-00, 12:48 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

yes, absolutely you can.
Old 12-28-00, 01:00 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 10 Likes on 3 Posts
Yes, you can. But using direct-radiating (this is what most main and center speakers are) speakers for your surround give you a very small "sweet spot"

For surrounds, you are much better off going with bi-pole or di-pole. These create a more diffused sound field, which is much more natural. It sounds MUCH better for surrounds, and give a much more "theatrical" feel, similar to having a whole wall of speakers to the side and behind you, like in most theaters.
Old 12-28-00, 04:04 AM
Uber Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
quote:<HR>Originally posted by shaun3000:
For surrounds, you are much better off going with bi-pole or di-pole. These create a more diffused sound field, which is much more natural. It sounds MUCH better for surrounds, and give a much more "theatrical" feel, similar to having a whole wall of speakers to the side and behind you, like in most theaters.
<HR>

I know this was true for Dolby Pro Logic, but don't they say that direct radiating is ok for DD and DTS now?

-David
Old 12-28-00, 04:10 AM
exm
DVD Talk Gold Edition

quote:<HR>Originally posted by shaun3000:
Yes, you can. But using direct-radiating (this is what most main and center speakers are) speakers for your surround give you a very small "sweet spot"

<HR>