Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Need some help on Selecting a Big Screen

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Need some help on Selecting a Big Screen

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-00, 12:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The following is a list of big screens currently being offered at Amazon.com

I have been clicking away for about 4 months and currently have over $1800 in Gc's

I have went to B&M stores and looked at most of the product listed below. I would appreciate any advice you could offer. BTW they currently have free shipping

Panasonic PT-51G44 51 Inch Projection TV Price: $1,399.88

Panasonic PT-51G35, 51" Projection TV Price: $1,449.88

RCA P52921 52" Projection Stereo Monitor TV Price: $1,499.99

Toshiba 50A60 50" TV Price: $1,499.99

Sony KP-43T75 43" Big Screen TV Price: $1,599.99

Philips Magnavox 9P6031C 60" Projection Television Price: $1,799.00

RCA P60921 60" Projection Stereo Monitor TV Price: $1,799.99

Panasonic PT-51SX30, 51" Projection TV Price: $1,799.99

It will used for Cable TV mostly, but I do have a fairly large collection of DVD's (75) and do have a surround sound system consisting of Energy Take 5 speakers and a Pioneer receiver. One consideration is the size of the room it will be placed in ( 18 X 15)

Thanks

[This message has been edited by flylikeaneagle (edited November 04, 2000).]
Old 11-04-00, 02:15 PM
DVD Talk Legend

My suggestion would be.....do not waste your money on a television at this point which is not HDTV ready!!! Also, if you care about the anamorphic dvds at all....be sure to buy a television which is 16X9!!! You will wind up spending more money but it will be money well spent....that is unless you do not care about digital tv and widescreen dvds(anamorphic)!!! Good Luck!!!

------------------
http://www.dvdtracker.com/~djones6746.asp