Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Advice on All-in-One Packages

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Advice on All-in-One Packages

Old 03-19-00, 03:32 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I need some advice. I'm fairly new to the DVD technology, and I have just purchased a new player. I was wondering about everyone's opinion on the All-in-One packages. Instead of buying a reciever and speakers, I was thinking about buying some mini home theatre system that had a built in DD Decoder, surround sound, and a sub. I am going to college next year, so I won't have room (or money) for all these monstrous speakers and high-end recievers. I know that Sony and Aiwa put out a package for around $400-$500. Would this be a wise investment or just a waste of money?
Old 03-19-00, 04:51 PM

The sound quality of these systems will be
low, and 2 good quality speakers will
sound better than 5 low quality speakers.

The best way to start, is to get a receiver,
and 2 decent speakers. Then, add the others
later as budget allows.

Since your budget is $500 right now, my
advice would be to look into a dealer
demo of a receiver, and also demo speakers.

I'm sure you could land a demo Yamaha
RX-V795a and a pair of Paradigm Mini-monitors
in your range. If not, check out a demo or
closeout Pro Logic receiver from Yamaha or
Denon. Then upgrade it later to a Dolby
Digital model when budget allows.

The point is to buy wisely, and get the best
quality for your money, while also being
able to re-use the components you buy today
as the system evolves with your budget and
space. The only way to do this on your
budget, is to start with 2 speakers and add
later.

------------------
-------
DVD Toolkit | Audio 101 | Stereo411 (The Ultimate Audio Resource!)
Old 03-19-00, 05:10 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition