Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Any college students with big screen, flat panels?

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Old 05-10-05, 12:55 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a college student, sophmore at a fairly expensive college. I work the tech center at Best Buy currently, I make $10 an hour, part time there, during the school I work roughly 15-20 hours. This summer I am interested in a getting a decent sized flat panel TV, maybe 30-42". I am looking in the range of $1500-2500. Just curious if other college students have flat panels and how they paid for it? Monthly plan? Straight up? And what kinda jobs you have and how long did it or is it taking you to pay off? Just trying to get an idea of how much trouble I really am getting myself into, if I purchase one.
Old 05-10-05, 06:23 PM

I didn't even have a CD player or color TV my freshman year in college... (1989)
Old 05-11-05, 03:03 AM

lol, i can't imagine a college student paying in full unless you're a wealthy college student. Go for it when theres 0% interest for 2 years (assuming you have or are able to get a Best Buy card) but don't pay minimum or else you'll be in trouble when those deferred charges come up. Pay $100 or so every month and you should be fine. But will you have enough money left for other things ? Don't buy this thing if its going to take up a considerable amount of your income. So, you need to ask yourself how much do u REALLY need this (wouldn't a $400-600, 27-36" CRT do ?) and can you really afford it considering your current and possible future situation. Asking what others are doing isn't going to help. Your situation is yours and yours alone, you need to figure out if you can handle it or not.