Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Projector question

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-04, 06:24 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Projector question

Question for my sister:

How big of a difference does it make for the projector to be native 16:9?

Can I not get True HD if the projector does 4:3 ratio and I make 16:9?

She was looking to get an Infocus 4800, but it is native 4:3.
Old 05-06-04, 06:51 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Re: Projector question

I am by no means an expert, so you may want to verify this info, but this is my understanding:

Originally posted by Venusian
Question for my sister:

I guess this depends on how much 16:9 stuff you watch.

Correct me if i'm wrong, but even if the Infocus 4800 (or X1, same projector) was 16:9, it would still not be able to do true HD, because it is only SVGA (800x600). If you are wanting a projector that can do true HDTV resolution (1920 x 1080) be prepared to spend a whole lot more money than you will on the 4800/X1

While certainly not the top of the line, I have the infocus X1 (4800), and am very happy with it. Especially for $900. Everyone who sees the picture is amazed.
Old 05-06-04, 10:10 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 21 Likes on 14 Posts
Re: Re: Projector question

You will still be able to display 16:9 format (which includes HD content, DVDs, etc.), but you will have pixel-spray (pixels that are turned off on the pixel borad, but still show a small amount of grey coloring) over the top and the bottom of the screen if you use a 16:9 screen. My advice, if her viewing material is 60% or more 16:9 based material, get a 16:9 projector and screen. Otherwise, you can use a 4:3 projector and screen.

Originally posted by TheMadMonk
While certainly not the top of the line, I have the infocus X1 (4800), and am very happy with it. Especially for $900. Everyone who sees the picture is amazed.