Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Anyone ever install a satellite dish?

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-03, 11:59 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It's my first time, I'm planning to do it myself tomorrow. Any tips? Anything I should know?

Thanks!
Old 08-07-03, 12:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My advice would be to check out DBS Forums. This site will give you a lot of how-to information on satellite dishes. I've never installed one myself. I was going to, but I got in on the Blockbuster Directv deal a couple of years ago and it came with free installation.
Old 08-07-03, 08:48 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

I've installed the same dish in two different locations. There's really nothing to it at all. You will need another person with you to help you fine tune it. Find the best location with as clear a view of the southern sky as possible (you'll need a compass) and mount your dish. Next, run a cable temporarily directly from the dish to the box, which should already be hooked up to your TV. Now go to the tuning option on your box and have a friend watch it while you move the dish head up and down, back and forth, looking for the strongest signal you can get. When you find the location, clamp down the dish head. Now run the cable permanently, install a ground cable (you can get a grounding rod and some copper wire at any home improvement store), and you're done!
Old 08-07-03, 10:14 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Well, I haven't done it by myself but I saw how people installs it. It was a 12 feet satellite dish, and it took three or four people to get it done. One hell of a work. Good luck, dude.
Old 08-07-03, 11:11 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Well, I was assuming this was a DTV or Dish receiver. Is that not right? Those type are simple to install. The older style, bigger dishes I can't speak of.
Old 08-07-03, 10:10 PM