Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Will a PAL DVD play on my player if it's region 0?

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-02, 09:15 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi!

I own hundreds of dvds, so I'm not a newbie but I've never been able to justify getting a region free player. It's already a very expensive region 1 habit and keeping up with releases here takes up enough of my time. If I had more time, more money or money energy I'd get everything.

That said, for the first time I've found something that I want so badly that it's driving me crazy. But I still don't want a player because of all the reasons listed above. The disc was listed as region 2 PAL, so I thought I was clearly sh*t out of luck. But then I was told it was region free.

That confused me because it's region free, but still PAL. Isn't PAL used only in region 2 anyway? What point is it to make it region free and still have it be PAL anyway? Who benefits from this? Then I wondered if it would play on my computer or what a PAL, region free DVD would do in my Sony players.

Can someone please give me some info? It would suck to only watch this on my computer, but if it's only this one I have to do it. I would just like to find out if I even would be able to play it without the PAL conversion.

Thanks.
Old 11-18-02, 09:25 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
It will play in your DVD player, but your TV most likely will not be able to display the video properly.

It will play in your computer's DVD-ROM drive just fine, though.
Old 11-18-02, 09:28 PM

Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts
region free NTSC will run on American NTSC based tvs

region free PAL plays on TV that accept the PAL signal.

Someone correct me if I am wrong in this respect, but most of Europe is Region 2 PAL. Region 2 is also Japan but they have NTSC televisions/monitors.