Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Need your comments....

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Need your comments....

Old 06-18-02, 03:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need your comments....

Can someone comment on this HTB....im new to this and would like someones opinion.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/Pi...,32427,00.html

Its on sale for 299$

thanks in advance!
Old 06-18-02, 04:50 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Most people won't have very many nice things to say about any HTiB since they are always inferior to putting your own system together. However a friend of mine who has a very expensive home theater got the Pioneer HTD-510DV for a secondary room and said he was blown away. Odviously it didn't sound anywhere near as good as his main set up but he couldn't believe what it could do for how little it cost him. He said the bass was impressive for the price he paid.

what your going to notice lacking in a HTiB is usally highs are not as brilliant as they should be. Also that center channel looks a little too small... your center channel is the most important for 5.1 so its not a good idea to have your center the same size or smaller than the rest of the speakers...

as far as bass I think you will get more than you should expect from a system that inexpensive.

If you don't care to dive into the home theater world HTiB maybe the right option but for the most part you pay alot for very little. If you want to start small and build up, I would recommend you take these steps.

Start with a good subwoofer, most tvs have audio outs that you can plug into a sub... its unbelieveable how much better movies sound even if your just using your tv speakers and a sub.

Then when you get more money buy a good reciever and some front speakers, then you can watch in 2.1 and you will already notice the major improvements.