Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Upgrading my Receiver

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Upgrading my Receiver

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-01, 06:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Upgrading my Receiver

First time post here, I'm rather new to the whole home theater thing. I've been enjoying my DVD 5.1 sound for about a year now.

Anyway on to the question, right now I have an older model Sony receiver that is 5.1 "ready" and I have my DVD player doing the decoding. My question is am I going to notice that much of a difference by going to a 5.1 decoding receiver instead of having my DVD player decoding??

I have a very very modest setup compared to most of you with Bose(I know they are not the best but I got a screamin deal on'em) 301 series 4 as my front speakers and Bose 151's as my rears and a Bose center channel. Best I could do on a college budget
Old 11-20-01, 07:16 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

For all practical purposes I don't think you'll be able tell a difference in DD. You don't have DTS, but it's not the end of the world. I'd spend money on getting a sub and then better front speakers first. Then I'd move the existing fronts to the rear and get a center channel to match the new front speakers. Only then would I look into replacing the receiver.
Old 11-20-01, 07:32 PM

Whoops I also have an Infinity 8" powered sub, forgot to mention that.

I'm working on saving for better fronts, but the ones I want are quite out of my budget now
Old 11-20-01, 08:35 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

the biggest thing you're missing out on at present is DTS, unless your player decodes DTS (few do).

I don't want this to get into a DD vs DTS debate, but personally, given the option between the two, I always watch with the DTS audio track engaged.

What price range would you be looking at for your new receiver, should you decide to get one?