Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Apex 3201 any good?

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-01, 09:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Apex 3201 any good?

My wife just bought me a DVD player. It's an Apex 3201 and seems to work pretty well with a good picture. But I'm new to DVD players and would like to know if anyone else has had experience with this player. If so, is it any good? I like the MP3 playing ability, but I'm more concerned about the DVD playing aspect. Are there better players in this price range ($125-$150)?

Thanks...
Old 08-19-01, 02:41 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Re: Apex 3201 any good?

Originally posted by sbelli
I like the MP3 playing ability, but I'm more concerned about the DVD playing aspect. Are there better players in this price range ($125-$150)?
YES!

The Pioneer DV-343 blows the Apex out of the water in terms of picture and sound quality. It's only $150 at Circuit City(both online and B&M).

It will also play problem discs which the Apex may have trouble with(skipping, etc). I used to have a Apex and it gave me a lot of trouble, so I got rid of it.

The Pioneer doesn't play mp3s, but it plays CD-R, CD-RW,VCD, DVD-R. It's an overall better quality machine than the Apex.
Old 09-23-01, 12:06 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Re: Re: Apex 3201 any good?

Originally posted by nekobus

YES!

The Pioneer DV-343 blows the Apex out of the water in terms of picture and sound quality. It's only $150 at Circuit City(both online and B&M).

It will also play problem discs which the Apex may have trouble with(skipping, etc). I used to have a Apex and it gave me a lot of trouble, so I got rid of it.

The Pioneer doesn't play mp3s, but it plays CD-R, CD-RW,VCD, DVD-R. It's an overall better quality machine than the Apex.
Hey nekobus, I am just wondering if this is the feeling towards all the players that Apex puts out? Do they all have this type of problems?
Old 09-25-01, 11:12 AM
Cool New Member