Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Looking for suggestions

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Looking for suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-01, 03:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi everyone
I am kind of new to the whole home theater thing, and I was looking for some suggestions on what is the best kind to get. A friend of mine told me that I could get a whole system on line for about 500. Does anyone know where, or if that is even true?
Old 05-06-01, 08:18 PM
Banned

That really depends on what you already have.

I'm guessing you have a TV.

Do you have a DVD Player as well?

There are what is known as a home theater in a box which basically has a receiver, 5 speakers, and a powered subwoofer - these can be found for $500 and under - but the speakers usually suck.

There are also units that have a receiver with a built in DVD player and the speakers as well - I'm not a big fan of these either, they are a bit more but there are a couple that will come in under $700.

E-Mail me at [email protected] and I'll help ya out

Dave

Old 05-07-01, 09:29 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

If you're really interested in saving money and you don't know anything about home theater, I would suggest you get the Kenwood HTB-503 (or similar model) home-theater-in-a-box, which will include a Dolby-Digital/DTS/Pro-Logic receiver, 5 speakers, and a subwoofer. If you need a DVD player as well, I would recommend the Sony 360 model, which is good quality and fairly reliable, and should be easy-to-operate for a new user. Toshiba's are a little less expensive and also a popular recommendation.

Expect to spend around $700 total for these items. The receiver is good enough that you can start to upgrade speakers in the future if you so desire.