Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Shopping Discussions > DVD Bargains > DVD Clubs
Reload this Page >

Best versions of dvds? Superbit? Ultimate?

DVD Clubs Discuss & Strategize about DVD Clubs like Columbia House

Old 01-22-05, 04:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Seems every day I run into another new term to cloud my mind. But hey, I'm new at dvd collecting. I could use the help and advice of dvd experts on this:

When I order from Columbia House, which movies do they carry LOWER QUALITY than the best version available? For instance, is CH's Hollow Man, listed as "special edition", but I've read elsewhere (probably here somewhere) that the superbit version is the best. Another is T2 Terminator....CH sells the "ultimate edition", but I read somewhere that the "original" has a higher dts bitrate? Is that true? I dont' want to trade extras for degraded picture and audio!!! &%$# the extras! Finally, there is Underworld....CH has "special edition" and "unrated extended edition" but neither of them on the website pics look like a superbit box.

If any of what I said is true, do we have a nice "don't buy these from CH" list? I know that there are certain things I can't get there at all, like Star Wars, Lion King, Toy Story, Indiana Jones to name a few, but I could use help with avoiding a lesser product by buying something from them when there is something better OUT THERE! : ) Thanks for your time and to the moderators for maintaining this awesome site!

Last edited by ettevroc28; 01-22-05 at 04:53 PM. Reason: typo
Old 01-22-05, 06:50 PM

Well actually CH carries the Extreme version of T2, the Ultimate version is something different. There really is no "better" one, the Ultimate has a DTS track, which the Extreme DVD lacks, but the Extreme version has better video quality. It gets confusing; blame the manufacturers for making so many different versions of the same thing.