What happened to Spawn?

Comic Book Talk The Place to talk about Comics

What happened to Spawn?

Old 03-13-07, 07:19 AM
wlj
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
What happened to Spawn?

I am pretty new to comics, but i remember in the 90s it seemed like everything was SPAWN SPAWN SPAWN. I go to several message boards and nobody ever talks about Spawn. Is Spawn "uncool" now or just "uncool" to the "elite" comic collectors? Is Spawn kind of the "Slipknot" of comics? I am just curious. i am not very familiar with spawn's story, but it seems like a ghost rider ripoff.

i just noticed how many quotation marks i have in this post.

wlj
Old 03-13-07, 08:22 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 418 Likes on 285 Posts
Wikipedia is your God when it comes to catching up on comics.

That said:

Spawn enjoyed a considerable amount of popularity in the 1990s, which was a notable feat for a non DC and non Marvel character. From 1994-95 on Spawn was very popular, and part of this was possibly due to the widespread popularity of McFarlane Toys, which expanded beyond specialty stores, and the toys were sold in major department stores as well as Toys "R" Us and KB Toys. This gave the title a boost, and brought it to the attention of both younger audiences and older toy collectors who were exposed to the toys.

When this popularity ended is impossible to place, at least in regards to any one date. In general, Spawn's popularity peaked with the 1997 Spawn feature film. The character's popularity began to slowly decline after this, until he largely dropped off the "mainstream" radar in 1998-1999. The comic book's sales have been in steady decline, though it continues to be published today. Still, figures produced by McFarlane Toys continue to remain very popular, mostly due to their tremendous detailing.