Book Talk A Place To Discuss Books and Audiobooks

What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Old 05-05-19, 02:59 PM
  #1  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,036
What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Come on people! Start the new thread ... don't keep posting in the previous month's thread

Finished:

The book has an interesting idea that will likely repel a good portion of the male sci-fi audience (a mutation in women gives them all electricity-based superpowers which leads to global female domination).
brainee is offline  
Old 05-05-19, 08:49 PM
  #2  
kd5
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
kd5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 9,395
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Finished Swan Song, started Ender's Game (once again)...


kd5 is offline  
Old 05-06-19, 12:52 PM
  #3  
PAG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Powell, Ohio
Posts: 658
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Just finished:

PAG is offline  
Old 05-06-19, 06:40 PM
  #4  
Moderator
 
story's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Hope.
Posts: 8,672
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

I always forget to post in these threads. I'm in a monthly book Club and usually read each pick when the month allows for it. We try to pick books we wouldn't normally read so we get a taste of fresh voices and different perspectives. Tonight, we're discussing my pick, You Can't Touch My Hair and Other Things I Still Have to Explain by Phoebe Robinson. Listened to the audio, she's hilarious. Tons of Gen X culture, funny sex talk, and an accessible way to talk about the hard realities of ageism, sexism, and racism. I'm hoping to read her new book soon, Everything's Trash But That's Okay.


story is offline  
Old 05-06-19, 07:52 PM
  #5  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Nick Danger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 22,350
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Finished Cakes and Ale by W. Somerset Maugham. It was his favorite book, but I liked The Razor's Edge and Ashenden better.

Started It by Stephen King. When you start a book on Kindle, you don't have a physical object in your hand that tells you how big it is. But when I was 170 pages in, I noticed that I was only 13% of the way through. That's a door stopper of a book.
Nick Danger is offline  
Old 05-07-19, 02:11 PM
  #6  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: MA
Posts: 5,456
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Finished the Subtle Art of not giving a Fuck. Was a little underwhelmed after waiting for 3 months to get it on my kindle from Overdrive.

Now working on Allen Dean Foster' The Relic. I really loved him as a teen and came across this. A decent story about the last human alive and an alien race attempting to help him find earth as well as re-establish the human race.
jpcamb is offline  
Old 05-07-19, 02:34 PM
  #7  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,036
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Finished:

Entertaining, if a bit lightweight, book from another new (to me) author. It's a sci-fi thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton or Robin Cook (with a bit more political/military action, like a Tom Clancy, Jonathan Maberry, or James Rollins). So if a mash-up of those authors sounds up your alley, this may be a book you enjoy. The "fungus infection" story has been used a lot recently, but fortunately this stays far away from being a zombie story. The storylines of the author's other books sound interesting so I'll have to check them out when I'm in the mood for something easy in this genre.
brainee is offline  
Old 05-07-19, 04:40 PM
  #8  
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Finished "The Atlantis Gene", the first book in a trilogy by A.G. Riddle.

What I liked:
+ There were some pretty good things in the book, the best being the settings: Antarctic, Spain, Tibet, Jakarta all were interesting and evocative. On par with A.C. Doyle's descriptions of England (via John Watson).
+ The science/ideas were rather compelling, while I may not buy into them they were well presented and fun.
+ The bad guy was ok, a little melo-dramatic but that's what is called for in this book.

What I didn't like:
- The disjointed nature of the book with the way too many chapters. I was never able to build up a scene in my mind before it completely swaps out to the next scene. Rather than build up tension, it took me completely out of the story. There are something like 160 chapters, some barely 30 seconds long. This would be great in a visual (movie/tv) presentation, and could even be effective in a graphic novel. But in this medium it was just annoying as hell.
- The lead characters: They were simple two dimensional characters, boring and dull. They seemed to be written for a young adult book.
- The circumstances/coincidences: There were so many extreme things that happened. It becomes eye-rolling.
- Dialog: In many cases (esp with the leads) it was embarrassing and trite.

All in all the weaknesses overwhelm the strengths; I doubt that I will listen to the remaining books.

Note the reader was good, a 7 out of 10 rating.
sford is offline  
Old 05-07-19, 10:19 PM
  #9  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Why So Blu?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 30,356
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Why So Blu? is offline  
Old 05-07-19, 11:09 PM
  #10  
DVD Talk Platinum Edition
 
Tom Banjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 3,586
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

I downloaded “Exhalation” from Ted Chiang, which is a compilation of his short stories. After reading an article about it the stories all sounded interesting. This is the same guy that wrote the story that was adapted into the movie “Arrival.”

I’ll be starting it in a few minutes.
Tom Banjo is offline  
Old 05-08-19, 04:55 PM
  #11  
Member
 
ScHoLaR oF SMuT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: canada
Posts: 151
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

this here is my 'bible' and saving grace from a world full of meaningless mundane conventions

ScHoLaR oF SMuT is offline  
Old 05-10-19, 12:00 PM
  #12  
PAG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Powell, Ohio
Posts: 658
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Just finished:

PAG is offline  
Old 05-10-19, 07:29 PM
  #13  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Bronkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AnaheimLand, SoCal
Posts: 15,521
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Finished Slaughterhouse-Five. That was a fun read! Not sure what's next. Probably going to read comics for a day or two.

Originally Posted by Tom Banjo View Post
I downloaded “Exhalation” from Ted Chiang, which is a compilation of his short stories. After reading an article about it the stories all sounded interesting. This is the same guy that wrote the story that was adapted into the movie “Arrival.”

I’ll be starting it in a few minutes.
I saw an article on this, too. Sounded interesting enough for me to order it.

Last edited by Bronkster; 05-10-19 at 08:11 PM.
Bronkster is offline  
Old 05-12-19, 11:22 AM
  #14  
Member
 
MeridithHartt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 145
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

An old book, I recently bought from Amazon. Yes, its Black Swan.



Also planning to read "She Lies in Wait". Loves to read camping novels with great thrill.

MeridithHartt is offline  
Old 05-12-19, 09:19 PM
  #15  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Bronkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AnaheimLand, SoCal
Posts: 15,521
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)



I read this 14-15 years ago. With my new dog being less than cooperative, I've decided it may be good to read it again.
Bronkster is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 09:30 AM
  #16  
Member
 
ScHoLaR oF SMuT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: canada
Posts: 151
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)


ScHoLaR oF SMuT is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 12:33 PM
  #17  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,036
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Finished:


Great stuff, though the translation was off in a few places. Since almost all of the stories are novellas, this is a big meaty collection. Now I have to watch the Chinese blockbuster adaptation of the title story on Netflix.
brainee is offline  
Old 05-15-19, 03:35 PM
  #18  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: MA
Posts: 5,456
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Steven Kings Wind through the Keyhole /Dark Tower 4.5, another re-read as I am working through the series now with interruptions as other kindle titles I have reserved keep coming available on Overdrive.
jpcamb is offline  
Old 05-16-19, 11:34 AM
  #19  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
Rival11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Western N.Y.
Posts: 5,788
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Finished Pet Sematary - amazing book, can't believe it took me that long to finally read it. If you've never read a Stephen King book before, this is where I recommend you start - effortless read through and it's just so "tight".

Currently reading:

Rival11 is offline  
Old 05-17-19, 10:23 AM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 469
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

I'm re-reading my old paperback of Star Wars original trilogy. old paperback I bought from Waldebooks back in 1989 or early 1990. Front cover is about to come off. Reading New Hope again. Then ill be reading Star Wars Battlefront II Inferno Squad.
urrutiap is offline  
Old 05-17-19, 04:08 PM
  #21  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: MA
Posts: 5,456
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

on to David Sedaris's Calypso. Kind of surprisingly moribid and depressing for him as it speaks of his sisters suicide and mothers death in the first few stories. Not what I think of when I see his name/books.
jpcamb is offline  
Old 05-18-19, 02:05 PM
  #22  
DVD Talk Gold Edition
 
rbrown498's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,394
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Currently reading (and enjoying immensely):

rbrown498 is offline  
Old 05-19-19, 03:22 PM
  #23  
Member
 
ScHoLaR oF SMuT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: canada
Posts: 151
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

re-reading tracy kidder's pulitzer prize-winning nonfiction book the soul of a new machine (1981)


ScHoLaR oF SMuT is offline  
Old 05-20-19, 08:25 AM
  #24  
PAG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Powell, Ohio
Posts: 658
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Just finished:

PAG is offline  
Old 05-20-19, 11:24 AM
  #25  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
DaveNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sacramento (The City of a Beer)
Posts: 6,899
Re: What Are You Reading? (May 2019)

Finished Huey Newton's "Revolutionary Suicide" and started the 2nd book in the Dune series
DaveNinja is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.