Book Talk A Place To Discuss Books and Audiobooks

Hardcover vs Paperbacks

Old 08-13-05, 01:59 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Hardcover vs Paperbacks

Is there a preference...i would think hardcover would be more enjoyable to read...more to hold on-to....

im a newbie so be gentle

buy hardcover whenever possible?
Old 08-13-05, 03:46 PM
Banned

Location: Right now, my location is DVDTalk, but then again, you should already know that, shouldn't you?
Hardbacks ONLY if you are a collector and intend to treat them like newborn children. Paperbacks for every other kind of reader. And as far as readability is concerned, I personally find paperbacks much easier to handle than bulky, heavy, unweildy hardbacks.

Last edited by Filmmaker; 08-13-05 at 03:49 PM.
Old 08-13-05, 04:09 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

I prefer paperbacks for the portability factor.
Old 08-13-05, 04:29 PM
Mod Emeritus

Originally Posted by tommy28
[....]im a newbie [....]
In deference to your newbie status [], please take these links with my compliments:
Old 08-13-05, 11:24 PM
DVD Talk Godfather

paperbacks because they're cheaper.
Old 08-13-05, 11:51 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Paperbacks because I don't feel so bad when I drop them in the tub.
Old 08-14-05, 02:43 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Either. Hardbacks if it's something I'm really waiting for since I don't want to wait forever. Paperbacks if I'm just looking for something to read, or if I'm going to be traveling.

Cost is not that big a factor. Paperbacks tend to be around $8 nowadays. You can usually get the hardcover around $15 - 16 (although it's more for less popular books since they don't get as deeply discounted).
Old 08-14-05, 04:55 AM

Hardback to sit on my shelf, paperback to read and throw around.
Old 08-14-05, 08:20 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

I like hardbacks because the words have a bit more space between them on the page and I enjoy the heft of the book, but I'll take either one.
Old 08-14-05, 09:54 AM