Community
Search
International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

Thai DVDs

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-07, 12:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thai DVDs

I'm new to buying Import DVDs, and upon browsing sites such as YesAsia and HKFlix, i've noticed that a lot of movies that are released in Japan and other countries have Japanese editions (obviously, but are also a lot higher priced, as expected) and HK editions, but also have Thai versions as well (such as this version of Always: Sunset on Third Street). I've noticed that these Thai versions are a lot less expensive, and generally have the same cover art and specs as their Japanese or HK counterparts, but i'm wary about buying them. Are these cheaper Thai editions worth buying compared to the HK and Japanese editions? Do they generally have lower subtitle and audio/video quality? Any help/suggestions are welcome.
Old 07-08-07, 03:31 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 79 Likes on 57 Posts
Same video quality but cheaper generally means the Thai distributor is cutting some costs.

Check the specs carefully.

United Home Entertainment only releases Thai language friendly discs only.Meaning the video quality and audio quality are great but no English language or English subtitles.

Mangpong Limited is good at including English subtitles with good video quality. However, the English subtitles are for the whole film even the English language portions.

I have Casshern and Azumi which are in the original Japanese with English subtitles. The video and audio quality are great but the extras are Thai friendly only.

I also have 3 Iron and Initial D from Thailand. They are great DVDs but no English subtitles. I have to watch it in Thai.
Old 07-08-07, 04:11 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition