Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Dolby Digital and DTS Hookup

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-03, 09:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I just bought a RCA 700W Dolby Digital/DTS Home Theater System w/5 Speakers and 200W Subwoofer Model: RT2500 from Best Buy about a week ago and im having trouble hooking it up for surround sound with my DVD player. Im a little new at the whole true surround sound thing so im needing a little help on how to hook it up.

Im hooking the reciever to my Samsung DVD611 the back looks like this:

The back of the reciever looks like this:

As of right now I have the DVD player and the Reciever connected by an Optical cable for audio and a RCA adapter for video. On the front of the reciever there is a bottom marked 6 channel and whenever I turn it on there is no sound. My question is do I need to buy a decoder? If I do what one and were can I get one because I cant find one. Or do I need to buy a new DVD player with the 6 jacks in the back for 5.1?

Any help would be greatly appricated as RCAs customer service has not responded yet.

Thanks!
Old 06-23-03, 11:54 PM

have you even THOUGHT about reading the manual?
Old 06-23-03, 11:59 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally posted by cowanrg
No offense, but yeah, that was my first thought too. This should be covered on, like, Page 2.

Short answer: Optical out to optical in. You might have to assign the inputs on your receiver, but to do that you'll have to read the manual.

One other note, if your TV supports it, use S-video for the video signal, not RCA. Both your DVD player and receiver support it.
Old 06-24-03, 02:07 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 20 Likes on 13 Posts