Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Computer speakers...?

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Computer speakers...?

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-02, 09:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Computer speakers...?

Im fairly new to the whole audio concept, but I love watching movies with surround sound. Also, I'm fairly cheap, so instead of buying a huge system, I have bought a $30 5-piece (4 speakers and a sub-woofer) CompUSA speaker set, and have hooked it up to my tv with the help of some radioshack wire adapters. The sound is reasonably good, but my question is if this is much different to DD or DTS. Also, please inform me of what these two things are, and what their qualities are. Thanks.
Old 07-31-02, 10:26 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 14 Likes on 7 Posts
Like you, my friend, I am cheap also.

Uhhhhh, what brand is your speakers? How many watts? what is it's highest and lowest frequency? How are they connected to the TV? Thru a minijack? RCA? Don't you really mean you hooked it to your DVD player, not the TV?

Computer speakers are good for listening to CD music, esp. while using a subwoofer.

As for DD and DTS, I don't believe that you could be receving a DTS and DDsignals, since it has to be decoded thru a receiver using a coax or optical cable.

But you probably will be hearing a 5.1 downmixed stereo sound on your speakers which is good enough for most people.
Old 08-01-02, 12:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts