View Single Post
Old 10-01-10, 11:10 AM   #129
clckworang
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Re: The 6th Annual "October Horror Movie Challenge" (10/1 - 10/31) ***The List Thread

My spot!

Challenge Comparison:

2010 Tally...............2009 Tally...............2008 Tally
17 Blu-rays...............19 Blu-rays...............08 Blu-rays
13 DVDs...................39 DVDs...................59 DVDs
37 DVR.....................37 DVR.....................11 DVR
52 Streaming.............18 Streaming.............20 Streaming
02 Theater................02 Theater................02 HD-DVD
01 Stage...................----------................-----------

Total First-Time Views: 111

Oct. 1

01. ☼ Pontypool - This is a film I read about a long time ago and had been wanting to watch ever since. I thought the concept was fascinating. People are turning into zombies, and it's being transmitted through language. I'm a writer/editor and love zombie films, so I thought this could be perfect. Well, not so much. It had its moments. It certainly wasn't bad, and it was refreshing to see a totally different take on the zombie story, but it just didn't end on a very good note for me. Overall, I don't think the film ever really rose to the concept, but it was interesting to watch nonetheless. DVR

Oct. 2

02. Prince of Darkness - I watched this last year and wanted to give it one more spin this year. Last year, I felt like it all went a bit over my head at times. Then again, I was on movie overload at that point. I know this film is much maligned by many, but I will stand by it. Like Pontypool, I respect that it wasn't content to just be another dumb horror movie. It actually makes you think. That can be rare in this genre. DVR

Oct. 3