Release List Reviews Shop Join News DVD Giveaways Video Games Advertise
DVD Reviews | Theatrical Reviews | Adult DVD Reviews | Video Game Reviews | Price Search Buy Stuff Here
DVD Talk
DVD Reviews DVD Talk Headlines HD Reviews

Add to My Yahoo! - RSS 2.0 - RSS 2.0 - DVD Talk Podcast RSS -

Go Back   DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Closed Thread

Old 03-22-05, 05:59 PM   #1
Thanh-BKK

how to "record" video FROM PowerDVD..?

Hello

I have a problem here. Please forgive me when i don't know all the specialities, i am a relative newbie to "video" and such stuff.

My boyfriend recently bought a rather dodgy VCD. This one does play in a standalone player, but it stutters a lot specially in the beginning. On the PC, using Windows Media Playuer as normally for VCD's, it says "can not play this CD, it might be dirty or damaged". By the way i use XP pro SP2.

When i try to copy the .dat file from the VCD on the harddisk, by using the DVD/SC drive, it comes with an error "can not copy avseq01.dat: cyclic redundancy check" and when i try to do the same, using my CD writer drive, it comes with "illegal MS Dos operation", short, it can not be copied onto HDD, not even from the command prompt (same error messages).

I managed to make a copy of that VCD, using "Deep Burner" and "Burn At Once", but the copy behaves exactly as the original, and when i copied the .dat file alone (using RAW mode -otherwise it wasn't possible) this .dat file is dodgy as well, as in "can not play it".