Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Rate my setup...

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-11, 12:15 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 21 Likes on 18 Posts
Rate my setup...

I've been using the same equipment for a few years now (except my receiver and HTPC) and am looking to make some changes, but not sure what. All in all I'm pretty happy with what I have but I know it can be better. Not looking to spend thousands, feel I should upgrade something lol.
Anyway, heres what I have.

Pioneer VSK 1019AH Receiver
TivoHD
Panasonic TH-50PX60 TV
Sony SA-WM40 Subwoofer (with poly fill modification)
Definitive Technology ProCenter 1000 center speaker
Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 2 fronts and 2 rears
Zotac Zbox ID34BR (used as a standalone media player w/XBMC, built in Blu-Ray, 3 2TB HDD housed in a 4 bay external enclosure connected via USB).
Harmony One remote.
I've been thinking about upgrading the sub. It is about 7-8 years old but to me it sounds very good (especially with the polyfill mod), but I've never heard a really good sub so I dont know.
Anyway, opinions please.
Old 02-01-11, 05:20 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 414 Likes on 359 Posts
Re: Rate my setup...

If your happy, your happy. If you enjoy that is what counts.

As for sub...yea...sure....think you would see a significant improvement by going SVS or HSU. They are sort of "the" subs of choice (I'm sure there are a couple others, but the SVS and HSU are excellent, readily available, have a huge following).
Old 02-01-11, 11:02 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by JZ1276
I've never heard a really good sub so I dont know.
I would agree, because if you had, you'd use the word "feel", not "hear".