Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Reviews and Recommendations
Reload this Page >

I need a review of WINGS OF HONNEAMISE.

Community
Search
DVD Reviews and Recommendations Read, Post and Request DVD Reviews.

I need a review of WINGS OF HONNEAMISE.

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-00, 11:14 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just bought the american DVD, and the image kind sucks.
Old 12-31-00, 12:06 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
www.animeondvd.com has a running report on what went wrong with WOH...here's an analysis from the discussion in their forum.

"WOH analysis"
After hearing about all the video problems with this disc I was very anxious to get my hands on it and see what the real story was.

DISCLAIMER: I am no expert. I am simply programmer and DVD enthusiast. I obtained this information using tools that are probably illegal to use in USA (I myself am not a US citizen and do not reside in the USA).

First of all, I watched the disc on my Sony 27" Wega with a Pioneer 525 DVD player. The video quality wasn't as bad as I have heard some people describe it, however, it was nowhere near DVD quality. Still, it was watchable.

Next, I pulled off the original VOB files and proceded to walk frame-by frame through various spots in the movie. Right off, some things were readily apparent.

Problems with the source:

A lot of people have speculated that this DVD was created from a laserdisc master. After viewing a dozen different sequences on the disc, it is quite obvious that whatever the source material for this release was, it most certainly was NOT any kind of original film (24 fps). What we see on frame-by-frame analysis is that the entire movie is interlaced. BADLY interlaced. The source was clearly either VHS or laserdisc-based (30 fps). There are obvious telecine artifacts all over the place. Worse, this source was captured incorrectly.