Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Newbie to home theater...Please help me choose best (cheap) speaker option

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Newbie to home theater...Please help me choose best (cheap) speaker option

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-00, 04:26 PM
Modfather

I'm just getting into creating a home theater. I have a sony DVD player and 125+ movies for it, but a crappy home theater. I'm buying a Sony STRDB930 today, but my speaker situation stinks. Some quick background: my tv is near the corner of a living room that's 15 feet wide by 15 feet deep. However, there is no wall at my back (as I sit to watch my TV), it just opens into my kitchen, which is basically about 8 x 8 or so. My problem is: I have two crappy bookshelf speakers (Jensen) and a like center channel. I am definitely on a budget and can't decide which route to go.

Option 1: Buy Jamo Apollo, Energy Take 5, or Acoustic Research HC-2 set with included subwoofer.

Option 2: Keep the 3 speakers I have, using them for rear left & right and center, buy approx. $200 set of front and $200 sub. Later replace the Jensens.

I don't have $2000 for speakers or even $750 right now (my wife would kill me!) so can someone help me out? If I don't impress her with the sound after spending $800-$1000 ($399 for DB930 & $400-$500 on speakers/set, I'll be planning my own funeral!

Feel free to email or post here. Thanks!
[email protected]
Old 03-29-00, 06:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
With regards to the speakers you have mentioned I owuld highly recomend the Take 5's. These are great sound home theatre speakers. Also, although some might disagree, I like the Klipsch quintet satelites for around the same price. These are both solid home-theatre speakers. Remember though, that to get and decent mid or low bass, you will need to get a sub along with it.