Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Setting up HDTV with upconverting DVD Player and HD-satelite (and only 1 DVI port)

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Setting up HDTV with upconverting DVD Player and HD-satelite (and only 1 DVI port)

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-05, 12:21 PM
mbs
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm really new to HDTV and going to get my first one today. I needed something somewhat portable (I move about every other year across the country due to my job), so I went with a 32" LCD. The issue: it has only one DVI-HDCP in port.

I was planning on buying an OPPO upconverting DVD player (with the DVI out). However, I'm also going to get HD-Satelite (still deciding between DirecTV and Dish) and thought for HD it was essential to use the DVI port. Thus, I'm torn as to which to plug into the DVI port and which to use component for.

Without buying a DVI switch box (they seem to run around $500 and I cannot justify that price yet), what is the best way to cable these two to my TV? Should I plug the DVD player into the DVI port and the HD-Satelite into the component video or vice versa?

Thanks for any advice. Like I said, I'm a total newbie to HDTV and have tried to find a good resource for sure questions without much luck.

Last edited by mbs; 11-07-05 at 04:49 PM.
Old 11-05-05, 01:26 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Connect the Oppo to the DVI port and the Dish or Direct to the component inputs. You need to use the DVI inpupt for the Oppo to take advantage of the scaling feature, but since the Dish box doesn't scale (as least to my knowledge), just go with component for that.
Old 11-06-05, 01:29 PM
mbs
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by BobDole42