Community
Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Best PSX FF game - 7, 8, or 9?

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-01, 04:58 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Here's a 'hot topic' for y'all. Having played all three, I'm of the (minority) opinion that 8 blew the other two away. There was just some "oomph" in that story that the other two lacked. Seven came very close, but it never became really personal for me, I guess. Maybe it's because I'm a college student, and the whole Garden thing in 8 really appealed to me.

9 I finished a few weeks ago, and found it shallow and more movie than game, to an even greater extent than the previous entries. I mean, the coolest thing 8 introduced was having your characters in pre-rendered movie scenes, like the parade and garden clash; these scenes were so incredible I reset and played them again immediately after clearing those areas. Where is this in 9? I suppose the scenes with the vines and all, but it just didn't have the same feel... Perhaps I've been jaded to the technology? There was a somewhat gothic quality in 8, perhaps, that 9 lost.

I know 8 is one of the least liked FF games, so I'm interested to hear some replies. And I've left out the old games; while there is some great gameplay back there (I loved switching classes during the game), and some very cool story in 6 (maybe 5), the older games are so wildly different from the modern versions that comparison becomes more "dueling nostalgia" than real review.

Note: I'm using the Japanese game numbers here; 5 and 6 are the most recent Super Nintendo versions (2 & 3?) in the states.

So, let's hear it: Which modern FF game rocks the llama?
Old 02-25-01, 08:16 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Hated 8....

Liked both 7 and 9....I would probably have to say I liked 9 more than 7....pretty close though!!!
Old 02-25-01, 10:16 AM

I liked 9 better. The graphics on that game were amazing!
Old 02-25-01, 10:17 AM