Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Final Fantasy IX questions

Old 02-20-19, 10:10 AM
kd5
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Final Fantasy IX questions

I realize this is ancient history for most of you but I just started playing this game (PSOne). Figured this might be a good place to ask questions.

First question (for now): On the main menu screen, when you're looking at your characters, for each character it gives you their current level, HP & MP amounts, the little blue ability stone, and a number beside it (1/30, 3/26, etc.). What the hell does that number mean? I've searched everywhere, either I don't know how to properly word my search or that information isn't widely available. I have characters where every available ability is equipped, and has used them, yet the number is still 0/26...

Thanks!

Edit: A random screenshot from Google images for reference:

Last edited by kd5; 02-20-19 at 10:35 AM.
Old 02-20-19, 11:03 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Re: Final Fantasy IX questions

IIRC that's your limit for support abilities. In your screenshot Lucille has none equipped since it's still 20/20.
Old 02-20-19, 11:08 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Originally Posted by kd5 View Post
I realize this is ancient history for most of you but I just started playing this game (PSOne). Figured this might be a good place to ask questions.

First question (for now): On the main menu screen, when you're looking at your characters, for each character it gives you their current level, HP & MP amounts, the little blue ability stone, and a number beside it (1/30, 3/26, etc.). What the hell does that number mean? I've searched everywhere, either I don't know how to properly word my search or that information isn't widely available. I have characters where every available ability is equipped, and has used them, yet the number is still 0/26...

Thanks!

Edit: A random screenshot from Google images for reference: