Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Nintendo Switch: Building a New Generation of Hardware from Scratch

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-18, 10:21 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 906 Likes on 668 Posts
Re: Nintendo Switch: Building a New Generation of Hardware from Scratch

Originally Posted by Decker
I have my one year subscription code from Best Buy but when I try to redeem it, I get a 'This Product is not yet Available' message.
I read that the service won't be available until sometime tonight.
Old 09-18-18, 10:29 AM
DVD Talk Godfather

Received 26 Likes on 14 Posts

https://www.polygon.com/2018/9/18/17...t-pdt-downtime

“Nintendo Switch Online will launch later this evening,” the company stated in a tweet. “In preparation, Nintendo Switch eShop is scheduled for maintenance starting at 5 p.m. PT and will be unavailable for up to three hours. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your understanding.”

So here’s the timeline:

Nintendo Switch eShop will be taken offline at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET
Up to three hours of downtime
Nintendo Switch Online will launch, at the latest, at 8 p.m. PT/11 p.m. ET
Old 09-18-18, 10:37 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 954 Likes on 662 Posts

Originally Posted by Music
They treat it like a handheld, because it is a handheld.
It’s much more like a family console. The handheld portion is only one mode. Either way the thing is designed to have multiple players and should allow for multiple save slots. Even games on the WiiU started this unfortunate trend.
Old 09-18-18, 10:39 AM
DVD Talk Godfather & 2020 TOTY Winner

Received 6,178 Likes on 4,207 Posts

^ Thanks, guys. Will try again tonight.

Originally Posted by The Bus
Really hoping there's a dungeon crawling Diablo-ish RPG coming to the Switch soon.

Or whatever you'd call Darkstone or Champions of Norrath.