Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Question about Steam

Old 12-26-08, 05:23 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Question about Steam

I know most of you are console players, but I'm thinking some of you might still be using the PC for games.
I haven't been playing video games for many years, and recently bought a new computer (Core 2 Quad to replace my Pentium 3!) and have a new video card on the way too..... so I'm ready to dip my feet back into the gaming pool.

Steam seems to have some good deals going on right now with games, but I've never used it/them before.

I know it's a digital download compared to buying the actual physical disc/box/manual in store.

Are there any disadvantages to using Steam that you guys have noticed? Is the game obtained via Steam the EXACT same game I would get if I buy it in store? What about the patches- can I simply install patches for games I've downloaded from Steam and would that work fine too? And do I have to remain connected to the internet to play single-player games I downloaded through steam? Or is it once I downloaded the game, I can play it without having to connect through Steam unless I want to do a multiplayer thing?

Just curious.... and Bioshock for $5 sounds pretty good. I saw the trailers and reviews and looks pretty amazing.
Old 12-26-08, 06:56 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
I use Steam and the only disadvantage is not getting the physical box. Once you have downloaded a game you will need to start it up once while online to activate it. Then you can set it to offline mode and play it without needing the Steam client to check it every time.