Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

My initial thoughts of "Def Jam: Fight for NY"

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-04, 07:56 AM
wlj
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
My initial thoughts of "Def Jam: Fight for NY"

I picked the game up yesterday....this is the first fighting game I have purchased in a long time. I have been reading about the game in magazines for sometime now and it looked pretty interesting.

I started playing at about 10pm last night and didn't quit till 2:30am...and the only reason I quit was because my wife got up and fussed at me. The game is alot of fun...here are my initial thoughts on different aspects of the game. These views could change since I have only had the game for a day...but It might help someone who is "on the fence"about buying the game.

Graphics 10/10 --- Whoa the graphics in this game are fantastic. The player models are very life-like and the venues are very detailed. I was blown away with how the game looked.

Sound 9/10 --- Has alot of good fighting sound effects...you really feel like you are beating the crap out of someone. Also has alot of cool hip-hop music---I almost freaked when I heard "Mama Said Knock You Out" by LL Cool J -- that song is the s***!!

Control 7.5/10 --- The controls were tough for me (still are)...I wish I could change some of the buttons around. I keep hitting the wrong button---For instance I keep hitting X(grapple) when I want to punch(Triangle)...that may just be a personal problem with me. L1 is the button you use when you want to perform a strong attack...let me just say it is very awkward and difficult to use that button in these matches which are very fast. However once I get more used to the controls...my rating might change---I doubt it though.