DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   Video Game Talk (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/video-game-talk-15/)
-   -   Where can I find an explanation of KOTOR's point/rules system? (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/video-game-talk/358910-where-can-i-find-explanation-kotors-point-rules-system.html)

Giantrobo 04-16-04 02:37 PM

Where can I find an explanation of KOTOR's point/rules system?

I'm new to this kinda stuff (RPG point systems) and I recently resumed playing Knights of the Old Republic but I don't understand the RPG system. I can't find anything online that explains it and from what I understand KOTOR is based on <b>"Wizards of the Coast Star Wars D20 rules"</b> whatever they are. I checked wizards.com but I didn't find anything helpful.

Any help would be great.

Groucho 04-16-04 02:41 PM

Here's the current 3.5 d20 rules. There's a lot here, and only a fraction of it is used in KOTOR.

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=d20/article/srd35

If you have a question about a particular aspect, we might be able to help you here.

Giantrobo 04-16-04 04:46 PM

Wow that looks heavy. Thanks though. I'm going to look through it.

xmiyux 04-16-04 08:10 PM

Really if you just focus on the section on feats, skills, and stats you should be fine. And if you give us a general idea of the character you are creating (ie. do you stand back and use force powers, or do you go in swinging the sabers, dual wield, etc.) then we could probably give specific advice on where to put points.

Giantrobo 04-17-04 02:01 PM

Originally posted by xmiyux
Really if you just focus on the section on feats, skills, and stats you should be fine. And if you give us a general idea of the character you are creating (ie. do you stand back and use force powers, or do you go in swinging the sabers, dual wield, etc.) then we could probably give specific advice on where to put points.