Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

For those of you with Gran Turismo.

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-03, 09:08 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 233 Likes on 166 Posts
For those of you with Gran Turismo.

I'm playing GT3: A-Spec and have a few questions.

I'm just getting into racing. I can go up to gear six (I use automatic) but whenever I get into a turn I crash... are you supposed to be able to handle curves at 6? Do you break at curves or ease up on the accelerator? I also notice some cars are more sensitive than others so I have to adjust how much I tilt the joystick.

That's my big concern, though, the curves.

Thanks
Old 07-30-03, 09:18 PM
Retired

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You have to break a lot for the sharp curves, how much depends on your car, tires, etc. It's a very realistic game, you're not going to go powersliding through curves like in the more "arcadey" racers like the Ridge Racer games.

The key to winning is knowing the best line through the tracks, which includes knowing what angle to enter curves, when to brake, what speed to go through them, when to punch the gas when exiting them, etc.

It just takes a lot of practice. The license tests (as frustrating as they are) are a big help.
Old 07-30-03, 09:22 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 233 Likes on 166 Posts
So when a guy at work told me he never breaks in curves for Mario Kart and just knows how to take them he was kidding or does that apply there also?

I got fourth in the first race. The cars don't accelerate !!!
Old 07-30-03, 09:23 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: For those of you with Gran Turismo.

Originally posted by GatorDeb

That's my big concern, though, the curves.

Seriously, though, have you tried to obtain licenses? It's a good way to find "the line" through most of the tracks and get a feel of how much brakes to apply. Hope this helps. It's been a while since I've popped this in!
Old 07-30-03, 09:27 PM
Retired