DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   TV Talk (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/tv-talk-14/)
-   -   Is DOWNLOADING TV Show Episodes ILLEGAL ? (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/tv-talk/107123-downloading-tv-show-episodes-illegal.html)

Original Desmond 05-08-01 11:49 PM

since they are shown free, is it illegal to download full tv episodes from the net ?

bothanspy 05-09-01 02:58 AM

Now, I'm no lawyer (new acronyom NINL), but you can record television but you cannot publically re-broadcast it. So if you tape the epsiodes off televison, its cool. If you buy them off ebay, its not cool b/c the network does not get paid. I believe its illegal to d/l them b/c someone is redistributing them. I may be way off [/i]base[/i]

BothanSpy

DigIt 05-09-01 09:14 AM

Yes, I think rebroadcasting or redistributing them is illegal.

tygloalex 05-09-01 11:45 AM

that being said, where can I download south park episodes?

El Scorcho 05-09-01 12:50 PM

Originally posted by tygloalex
that being said, where can I download south park episodes?
Spoiler:
Go to http://www.download.com , download Bearshare, and run it. It connects to the gnutella servers, much like napster.

darkside 05-09-01 03:45 PM

I have been downloading cartoons like the Simpsons, Avengers, and X-men off of Usenet and I fell no guilt about it. I don't see how having a rather low quality version of a TV show is hurting anyone. In the case of the Simpson I will rebuy them on DVD anyway, so Fox isn't losing any money on me.

Darren Garrison 05-09-01 10:10 PM

I've been downloading a few episodes of Buffy, but a 500 MB file is a bit of a long download with a 56kbs modem.

Bcolon 05-09-01 10:43 PM

Darren Garrison

Where do you get Buffy episodes?

Darren Garrison 05-10-01 06:44 AM

Originally posted by Bcolon

Darren Garrison

The Usenet newsgroup alt.binaries.multimedia.buffy-v-slayer

blakader 05-13-01 01:25 PM