Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Please help: Mini PC (Zotac Zbox) died during use & won't power on.

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 06-02-19, 01:18 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

I've been using a Zotac Zbox ID34 mini PC for around 7 or 8 years now as a HTPC running Kodi & it powered off while watching a movie & won't power back on. Pressing the power button will spin the fan for a couple of seconds & power up an external HDD I have connected to one of the USB ports but that's it. The external power supply seems ok as the brick still lights up when plugged in so my only guess could be the motherboard is no good? At this point I definitely got my $ worth & could get an Nvidia Shield to replace it but if it could be a cheap simple fix I'd at least like to try if you guys have any ideas. Thanks!
Old 06-02-19, 09:22 AM

Re: Please help: Mini PC (Zotac Zbox) died during use & won't power on.

I'd pull the cover and take a simple look inside. Here's hoping it's as simple as some lint, over the last 7 or 8 years, has collected on the CPU cooling fan and stopping/slowing it down . System shutting down to stop processor from overheating perhaps. I have a similar system, but a little newer, and so far it's been working. I may pop the cover and give it a blast of air just in case.
Old 06-03-19, 05:01 PM

Originally Posted by rduncan View Post
I'd pull the cover and take a simple look inside. Here's hoping it's as simple as some lint, over the last 7 or 8 years, has collected on the CPU cooling fan and stopping/slowing it down . System shutting down to stop processor from overheating perhaps. I have a similar system, but a little newer, and so far it's been working. I may pop the cover and give it a blast of air just in case.