Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Firefox "Refresh" Wiped Out All My Tiled Bookmarks

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Firefox "Refresh" Wiped Out All My Tiled Bookmarks

Old 07-06-17, 06:07 PM
  #1  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
Thread Starter
 
Jack Straw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: So. Calif.
Posts: 5,013
Firefox "Refresh" Wiped Out All My Tiled Bookmarks

Long story short, using Firefox I was prompted to "tune-up" my browser as it was running slow. When clicking on the refresh link it ended up erasing multiple tabs of my saved tile bookmarks replacing them with what looked like an updated version of Firefox. Using Google as a resource, I attempted to reload or reinstall them, no good. Then I did a system restore to a previous point, no good. Then I did an uninstall/reinstall of Firefox, no good. I ended up having to go to as many websites as I could remember and then re-bookmark them.

Anyone else have this issue? I searched the Tech forum and did not find any similar type of issues noted.
Jack Straw is offline  
Old 07-15-17, 09:51 AM
  #2  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 17,415
Re: Firefox "Refresh" Wiped Out All My Tiled Bookmarks

Do you mean the tiles on the "New Tab" page? I don't use Firefox much anymore, and I never customized that page.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...e-new-tab-page

I've had Firefox updates wipe out some user settings. Unless you have backups of the user profile folders, it's probably no use trying to restore them.
Jay G. is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.