Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Canon Rebel T3i help (comparison)

Old 01-15-12, 03:11 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Location: Home of the 2009 Stanley Cup & Vince Lombardi trophy!!!
Canon Rebel T3i help (comparison)

After reading the thread about DSLR cameras, I'm really thinking about getting a Canon Rebel T3i. I am a novice, but really want to learn how to take pictures the 'right' way. Anyhow, while I was looking at Target.com, they have 3 T3i's listed...one with the 'standard 18-55 lens, and 2 with an additional lens, so of course they are more money, but... When I did a comparison of the 3, there are TOTALLY different features listed for all 3. Some of the HUGE differences I noticed are things like:

VIDEO:
Basic - 1080p HD Movie Recording
#2 - Manual Focus, Mode Selection Dial, Auto Focus, 1080p HD Movie Recording, Face Detection Technology, DIGIC 4 Image Processor, Self Timer
#3 - DIGIC 4 Image Processor, Self Timer, Manual Focus, Mode Selection Dial, 1080p HD Movie Recording, Auto Focus, Face Detection Technology

IMAGE EDITING:
BASIC - Date Time Imprinting, Auto Image Rotation
#2 - Fish Eye, Image Resizing, Miniature, Black and White
#3 - Image Resizing, Miniature, Black and White, Fish Eye

MEDIA CARD COMPATIBILITY:
Basic - SD Card
#2 - Secure Digital Extended Capacity (SDXC) Card, Secure Digital High Capacity (SDHC) Card, Secure Digital (SD) Card
#3 - Secure Digital (SD) Card, Secure Digital High Capacity (SDHC) Card, Secure Digital Extended Capacity (SDXC) Card

The differences go on & on. HERE IS THE TARGET COMPARISON LINK

Please tell me if they all really have different features, or if they are just trying to sway consumers to spending more cash.

Thanks,

~S2K
Old 01-15-12, 04:18 PM

Re: Canon Rebel T3i help (comparison)