Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

To iPhone 4S or not to iPhone 4S...

Old 01-10-12, 09:04 PM

To iPhone 4S or not to iPhone 4S...

Hey everyone,

I'm going to be eligible for a phone upgrade with Verizon next month and I'm not an expert on cell phones, so I'm curious what are the best options out there right now. I haven't heard anything bad about the iPhone 4S so I am leaning towards that. I primarily use my phone for txting, e-mail, and internet. Less frequently, I use it to take pictures.

I think the advantage of the iPhone for me is that I also have an iPod; with the iPhone, it's a 2-for-1 deal and I don't need to carry a phone and iPod around.

For anyone with knowledge about the recent phones available and their specs, or if you have a different cell phone that you really like, I'd love to hear input about which phone on the market would be best for me.

Thanks!
Old 01-10-12, 09:37 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

The Man with the Golden Doujinshi's Avatar

Re: To iPhone 4S or not to iPhone 4S...

I'm no Verizon expert but I believe the Galaxy Nexus is an awesome android phone.

Right now I have an Evo Shift but after buying an ipad 2, I was seriously considering going to an iphone. But after messing around with my daughters ipod touch, I'm happier to just use my ipad for my apple device and stick with Android for my phone.

So around November, when I get my max upgrade credit, I'll probably go with the Nexus.
Old 01-10-12, 09:40 PM

Thanks, Mister Peepers. It looks like the Nexus costs as much as an iPhone, so hopefully it's at least as good. I'll have to look into that one more.

I probably should've said in my original post that I have a Droid Incredible now. I like it a lot, but it's not the best for txting, in my opinion.
Old 01-10-12, 10:01 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame