Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

Send email when Remote Desktop starts

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

Old 02-02-11, 11:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Like the title says. I would like my computer to send me an email every time a remote desktop connection starts.

I have a vbscript that can send an email with all the information I need, so that is fine. So, the question is, how do I run that vbscript when RD starts?
Old 02-02-11, 04:29 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

The Man with the Golden Doujinshi's Avatar

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Re: Send email when Remote Desktop starts

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...8WS.10%29.aspx
Old 02-02-11, 04:33 PM

Thanks Peepers. I should have explained better what I need.
What you point to is the computer that is initiating the connection to run a program.
What I need is the computer that is being controlled to send an email (or run a program) basically informing me that it is being controlled. So, I want to run something on the client-side, not on the controlling side.
Old 02-02-11, 04:48 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

You need to script it through the event viewer in computer management. You can attach a task to an event. In this case you want to look for a "Logon" event and an event type of "3" (network logon). You can set it to email you when this event occurs.
Old 02-02-11, 04:48 PM
DVD Talk Legend

This is the best thing I can think of. Run gpedit.msc

Goto Computer Configuration --> Administrative Templates --> System --> Logon --> Run these programs at user logon

You can put your vbscript there everytime someone logon. It doesn't cover exactly how you want it but I assume if someone can RDP into successfully, the vbscript should run.
Old 02-02-11, 05:10 PM

zuffy and palebluedot,

I already have this vbscript as the logon script, and it works perfect, IF the user actually logs on.