Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Tech Talk
Reload this Page >

HELP - How do I connect my PC to receiver???

Tech Talk Discuss PC Hardware, Software, Internet and Other Technology

HELP - How do I connect my PC to receiver???

Old 12-19-00, 11:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm getting my new Dell this week and want to connect it to my home theater system. I'm not that good with things like this and need some help. What kind of cables do I need? Where do I connect it to? I heard I need an RCA cable but I would need about 20 or 25 ft to reach my PC. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 12-20-00, 02:10 AM

You can use a mini jack to RCA. But as the cable gets longer you might run into static or a humming due to interferance or weakness in the line. I am using a 12 foot cable without any trouble. I have it connected to the cd connectors on the back of my receiver.

Good luck
Old 12-20-00, 10:58 AM

Thanks Bigbot,

I'm going to radioshack today to find the cable and will try hooking it up when I get my computer. I hope it works because I bought the cheapest speakers on my computer knowing I would use my home theater system.
Old 12-20-00, 11:45 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Very important questions:

* Do you have a Dolby Digital/DTS home theater (with a digital input)?
* Does your pc have a dvd-rom?
* Does your pc have a digital output (assuming it has a dvd-rom)?

The only way to get Dolby Digital or DTS from your pc is to use a digital output from your pc into a digital input on your receiver (or processor or whatever you have).

I have no idea if this concerns you.

-S
Old 12-21-00, 02:21 AM

quote:<HR>
* Do you have a Dolby Digital/DTS home theater (with a digital input)?
* Does your pc have a dvd-rom?
* Does your pc have a digital output (assuming it has a dvd-rom)?
<HR>